Mission / Values

Kindergartens have been part of New Zealand culture for over 100 years and continue to be the leaders in Early Childhood Education.

Important Docs

The Northland Kindergarten Association has 25 wonderful kindergartens each with a unique character and feel that mirror the community and environment in which they are situated.

We have kindergartens spread between Kaitaia in the far-north to Ruawai in the heart of the Kaipara. All NKA kindergartens offer 30 hours a week FEES FREE.

Our centres encourage and provide the opportunity for parents and Whānau to be part of the experience that only kindergartens can provide for our children. Each kindergarten has a fully trained teaching team and a ratio of 1 teacher for every 10 children.

The NKA provides the most comprehensive ECE available in New Zealand at present, including specialist services such as:

  • Speech & Language Therapists to support any aspect of children’s communication;
  • Pou Whakarewa Tikanga Māori (Māori Advisor) to enhance the bicultural practices within the NKA and the individual kindergartens.

Kindergartens have been part of New Zealand culture for over 100 years and continue to be the leaders in Early Childhood Education. Our Kindergartens don’t just provide a service for a community they are part of the community “Giving our children an excellent start for lifelong learning”.

We strive to provide the best possible Early Childhood Education (ECE) available for the tamariki/children of Northland.

Ngā mihi nui / Kind Regards,

Richard Storey - Chief Executive

NKA management team

Barbara Harrison

Operations Manager

barbara@nka.org.nz

Richard Storey

Chief Executive

gm@nka.org.nz

Bronwyn Coulton

Professional Practice Manager / External Contract Manager

bronwyn@nka.org.nz

Kim Townsend

Professional Practice Manager

kim@nka.org.nz

Gillian Armitt

Professional Practice Manager

gillian@nka.org.nz

Bevan Gibbs

Maintenance Team

bevan@nka.org.nz

Keith Allen

Maintenance Team

keith@nka.org.nz

Anahera Lauterbach

Speech & Language Therapist

anahera@nka.org.nz

Gay Easterbrook

Speech & Language Therapist

gay@nka.org.nz

Laena Hamilton

Infocare Administrator

laena@nka.org.nz

Teresa Dunn

Payroll Administrator

teresa@nka.org.nz

Linda Bale

Finance Administrator

finance@nka.org.nz

linda@nka.org.nz

Jeremy Hansen

Maintenance Team

jeremy@nka.org.nz

Roimata MacFarlane

Maori Advisor

roimata@nka.org.nz

Our Facilities

If you would like to enquire about hiring out our training facilities, board room or speech and language clinic, visit our facilities page and fill out the form.

Our Facilities

We are Kindergarten

Giving our children an excellent start to education and their lives is of huge importance to us. This means enriching every child’s experience and helping them to discover a joy of learning. It also means creating magical moments and memories that are synonymous with kindergarten.